Expats News Updates & advice

Indian expat in Oman wins prestigious award at Norway Tamil film festival

0 85

An Indian expat living in Oman has won a prestigious award at the 7th Norway Tamil film festival.

Tasleem Khan, who is originally from the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu, has won the special jury award for his acting performance in a short film “Vettenapesel – An Evening Appointment” and will be presented the award at the film festival to be held in Oslo, Norway from April 28 to May 1.

Khan is the chief executive officer and managing partner of Intelligent Parking and Elevator Company in Oman.

Vettenapesel is the story of two friends Vikram and Prabhu, who are scheduled to meet in the evening at a restaurant and Vikram comes late for the meeting and what happens after that is the interesting part of the film, said the director.

Khan said he is really happy and does not have any words to describe the joy and excitement of representing India and Oman. “The Norway Tamil film festival is such a prestigious film festival and getting a special jury award is a great achievement. I am really thankful to the Director, Anirban, costume and make up designer, Yamuna and my whole family for this award. We are also happy that the my other movie “Mezhugu –The Candle,” which I had directed has also been selected for a screening along with “Vettenapesel.”

The Norway Tamil film festival organises this international film festival every year and awards best feature films, directors, actors, actresses, music directors, singers and lifetime achievement awards for work in the Tamil film industry, said Vaseeharan Shivalaingam, the festival director.

He said the festival will be honouring noted actor Dr. Kamal Hassan with a lifetime achievement award for his all-round performance in the film industry.

The festival awards for this year are Best Film–Kakka Muttai, Best Director–Mohanraja, Best Actor–Vikram, Best Actress-Ishwarya Rajesh, Best Antagonist–Arun Vijay, Best Singer (Male)–Benny Dayal, Best Singer (Female)–Lalitha Vijayakumar, Best Music Director–Ghibran, Best Lyricist-Madan Karky, Best Screenplay-Gautham Menon, Best Production–Kuttram Kadithal, Best Supporting Actor-Ramesh Tilak, Best Supporting Actress- Leela Samson, Best Cinematographer–P C Sriram, Best Editor–Kishore, Best Social Awareness film-Azhagu kutti chellam, K S Balachandran award–Karunakaran, Director Balu Mahendra award–Vijay Sethupathi, Kalaichigaram Award–Prakash Raj, Lifetime Achievement Award– Dr. Kamal Hassan.

The chief of jury for the festival is Gloriana Selvanathan from Berlin, Germany.

Source: TimesOfOman